High build !

Global & International Rod Building Contributors
Tim1972

High build !

Post by Tim1972 »

I am new to rod building got lot to learn .. I’ve done my first build a zippo 2500 m .. I used prokote for my high build .. found it ok when warm weather, but had to heat it up when cold our would be to thick and lot of air bubbles .. but when I finally got it right was pleased with it .. but for my next project I want to try flexcoat uv high build that I’ve bought to compare the both products... prokote seems take a while go of .be interesting to here your thoughts on high build products lads .many thanks Tim
PierPoint

Re: High build !

Post by PierPoint »

Hi Tim, great post regarding high build and should generate a bit of interest. I have a fair few high build products and have probably tried them all and the key thing to point out is that they are all different and all react to different environmental conditions, especially the workshop. The thing to remember is that it is personal preference until you find the one that works for you.

Prokote can remain tacky for a while and if you heat it up it will go thinner so can easily be applied. However, when you apply heat to any of the products the pot life reduces and you have to be quick when applying it.

You can get a ‘lite version’ product and this doesn’t usually require heat as it is thinner in the first place.

U40, Threadmaster and Flexcoat all do a lite version and this can be used as a first coat as it can soak into the threads. If you only have the high build version of the product you can thin it down with acetone and I usually only do this at 10% of the total volume. You can go higher and flexcoat say no more than 25%, but always read any instructions and follow the manufacturers guidelines.